HIV Made Me Fabulous film premiere

WHRI

Please join us November 26, 2021 for the premiere of HIV Made Me Fabulous, a World AIDS Day event in collaboration with CATIE and GNP+, to raise awareness and show support for women living with HIV.

Start time: 10am Vancouver | 1pm Toronto | 6pm London | 7pm Madrid | 7pm Paris | 8pm Johannesburg | 9pm Nairobi | 5am Sydney (Nov 27)

Research shows that people living with HIV who have an undetectable viral load cannot transmit the virus to their sexual partners. Despite such remarkable advances in medicine, people living with HIV continue to face profound forms of stigma and violence. This affects women differently than men and can have long-term negative consequences.

HIV Made Me Fabulous is a short film directed by Edmond Kilpatrick that tells the personal story of Juno Roche, a writer, activist and trans woman who has been living with HIV for more than 25 years. The film experience is embodied, featuring candid storytelling accentuated by visual cues and dance performed by three women.

In addition to screening the film, this online event will feature an interactive discussion with women living with HIV and women working in the global HIV response.

Register now and view the trailer: www.lifeandlovewithhiv.ca/film

Speakers:

  • Valerie Nicholson, Elder and peer researcher, Simon Fraser University; BC Centre for Excellence in HIV/AIDS
  • Juno Roche, writer and film narrator
  • Florence Anam, Program Manager, Global Network of People Living with HIV
  • Marvelous Muchenje, PhD Candidate, University of Toronto; social work and global health practitioner
  • Edmond Kilpatrick, film producer and director
  • Allison Carter, film producer, The Kirby Institute and the Australian Human Rights Institute, University of New South Wales
  • Angela Kaida, film producer, Faculty of Health Sciences, Simon Fraser University and the Women’s Health Research Institute

This webinar is open to all audiences, including people living with HIV, healthcare workers, community advocates, policy makers, social service providers, sexual health educators, researchers, educators and members of the general public.

Top