Back to all News & Events >

Our News

WHRI

Applying equitable development and service delivery of digital health technology among underserved and ethnic groups: Principles and learnings

Written by Candice Taguibao, WHRI’s Digital Health Research Manager  Our health system is continuing full steam ahead toward digital transformation, but who is being left behind? As researchers and care-providers develop and implement digital solutions to address the health needs of women and other marginalized genders, two recent viewpoint pieces published in the Journal of […]

READ MORE
WHRI

Announcing the 2021 Women’s Health Research Institute Catalyst Grant Recipients

The Women’s Health Research Institute (WHRI) is very pleased to congratulate the recipients of the 2021 Women’s Health Research Institute Catalyst Grants. This competition was funded thanks to the dedicated support of the BC Women’s Health Foundation. One of seven awards for this year’s competition was funded by CIHR’s Sex and Gender Chair Program to support […]

READ MORE

Michael Smith Health Research BC announces the 2021 Health Professional-Investigator award recipients

Michael Smith Health Research BC announced the results of the the Health Professional-Investigator awards, which are “dedicated to support health professionals who are actively involved in patient care to conduct and apply research relevant to health and/or the health system to ultimately improve health outcomes in BC and beyond.” We are thrilled to congratulate WHRI member Dr. Nichole […]

READ MORE

2021 Digital Health Week Poster Competition Winner

This year the Women’s Health Research Institute and the BC Children’s Hospital Research Institute partnered to host a series of events celebrating digital health innovation in BC aiming to improve the health and well-being of children and families around the world. The theme of this year’s event was “How Can Digital Health Work for You?” […]

READ MORE
WHRI

World AIDS Day 2021

By Neora Pick, MD, Medical Lead, Oak Tree Clinic, BCWH,Clinical Professor, Division of Infectious Diseases, Department of Medicine, UBC   Today, December 1st, is World AIDS Day: the start of the fifth decade of HIV, and the third year into COVID-19. Forty years into the HIV epidemic, the world still feels its effects: Globally, 37.7 million […]

READ MORE
WHRI

HIV Made Me Fabulous film premiere

Please join us November 26, 2021 for the premiere of HIV Made Me Fabulous, a World AIDS Day event in collaboration with CATIE and GNP+, to raise awareness and show support for women living with HIV. Start time: 10am Vancouver | 1pm Toronto | 6pm London | 7pm Madrid | 7pm Paris | 8pm Johannesburg | 9pm Nairobi […]

READ MORE
WHRI

Announcing the 2021 Graduate and Fellowship Award in Women’s Health Recipients

The Women’s Health Research Institute (WHRI) is very pleased to congratulate the recipients of the 2021 Graduate and Fellowship Research Award in Women’s Health. This competition was funded thanks to the dedicated support of the BC Women’s Health Foundation. The WHRI launched this award in 2020 with a goal of creating a funding opportunity specific […]

READ MORE
WHRI

UBC announces 2021 Faculty of Medicine Award Recipients

The University of British Columbia has announced the recipients of the 2021 Faculty of Medicine Awards, which recognize “faculty and staff members for excellence in teaching, research, administration, innovation and public service.” We invite you to join us in congratulating this year’s recipients, which include ten WHRI members! Lori Brotto Award for Excellence in Mentoring Early Career […]

READ MORE
WHRI

How can we apply feminist intersectionality to digital health research?

Written by Candice Taguibao, WHRI’s Digital Health Research Manager Although digital tools have the potential to make care more accessible and convenient for many, there are some groups who may be missing out on the full benefits of innovation: women and particularly low-income women of colour. In a viewpoint article recently published in the Lancet […]

READ MORE
Top