MSFHR Reach Award recipients announced

Congratulations to WHRI members Drs. Angela Kaida, Lori Brotto, Allison Carter, Jessica McAlpine, Paul Yong, and Caroline Sanders and trainee Natasha Orr, whose projects have been selected for funding by the Michael Smith Foundation for Health Research (MSFHR) Reach Awards!

Academic Institution Affiliation:
Academic Institution Position/Title:
Academic Affiliation Faculty:
Hospital/Health Centre Affiliation Position:

Research areas of interest:
Research Themes:


The program provides funding for projects involving collaborations between researchers and research users to support dissemination and uptake of research evidence.

Project title


Project trainees

#LifeAndLoveWithHIV: A social media initiative to support the sexual health needs of women living with HIV

Read our Q&A with the team here.

  • Angela Kaida (SFU) *
  • Margarite Sanchez (Positive Living Society of BC)
  • Lori Brotto (UBC) *
Allison Carter (SFU)  *
Biologically informed ovarian cancer prevention: Promoting education and awareness
  • David Hunstman (BC Cancer)
  • Jessica McAlpine (BC Cancer) *
Shaina Lee (UBC)
Knowledge translation for a new understanding of sexual pain in endometriosis

Read our Q&A with Natasha here.

  • Paul Yong (UBC) *
  • Jessica Sutherland (BC Women’s Hospital + Health Centre)
Natasha Orr (UBC) *
Developing and disseminating an interactive menstruation (info)graphic (I’M IN)

Read our Q&A with Dr. Sanders here.

  • Caroline Sanders (UNBC) *
  • Joanne Hall (Congenital Adrenal Hyperplasia – Living with CAH Support Group, UK)
Erika Belanger (UNBC)
* denotes WHRI member

Click here to read more about the award and to access the full list of recipients.