MSFHR 2018 Health Professional-Investigator Award Recipients announced!


Congratulations to Drs. Melanie Murray and Paul Yong, two of the twelve recipients of the Michael Smith Foundation for Health Research Health Professional-Investigator Awards! The program “is designed to help decrease the gap between health research and its implementation.

Dr. Murray has been awarded for the project Individual disposition and mHealth: Personalized care to improve outcomes, which will explore the efficacy of text message-based antiretroviral adherence support in 300 HIV patients.

Dr. Yong’s project, Sexual pain in endometriosis: Role of somatic mutations, looks at the role of gene mutations in endometriosis sexual pain.  This research could help to influence the incorporation of gene mutation testing into clinical care for endometriosis to promote more individualized care.

Read the full list of recipients here.